The Non-Where editions

Persian literature was born under a lucky star. Taking its sources at the cradle of civilization, between the Tigris and the Euphrates, at the time of Gilgamesh, it is known above all in the West through its great poets, Omar Khayam and his quatrains, Hafez de Shiraz and his loving Ghazals, Ferdosi and his book of Kings, Saadi and his rose garden, Rumi and his Shams, Nizami and his Leyli and Majnun, Attar and his Song of the birds.
Such a line could not remain without an heir. In contemporary times other well-known names have arisen, Sadegh Hedayat and his blind owl, Forough Farrokhzad and his rebirth.
Yet during the twentieth century, especially after the revolution and the Islamic republic, a leaden layer fell on Iranian literature because of censorship, preventing poets and writers from publishing their works.
The editions of Non-Where (Naakojaa in Persian, which means Utopia), were created in France in 2012 in order to give voice to this literary creation passed in silence. Naakojaa Publishing has published more than 200 books in Persian that have not passed censorship in Iran. In 2017 we took another step forward by translating these works into French to give them the chance to be discovered in languages other than Persian. Our motto being the words of Franz Kafka:
“All literature is an assault on the border. "

© 2017 Utopiran Naakojaa

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • White Instagram Icon

Les éditions du Non-Où

La littérature persane est née sous une bonne étoile. Prenant ses sources au berceau de la civilisation, entre le Tigre et l’Euphrate, au temps de Gilgamesh, on la connaît surtout en occident à travers ses grands poètes, Omar Khayam et ses quatrains, Hafez de Shiraz et ses Ghazals amoureux, Ferdosi et son livre des Rois, Saadi et son jardin de roses, Rumi et son Shams, Nizami et son Leyli et Majnun, Attar et sa Cantique des oiseaux.
Une telle lignée ne pouvait rester sans héritier. À l’époque contemporaine d’autres noms bien connus ont surgi, Sadegh Hedayat et sa chouette aveugle, Forough Farrokhzad et sa renaissance.
Pourtant durant le vingtième siècle, notamment après la révolution et la république islamique, une chape de plomb s’est abattue sur la littérature iranienne à cause de la censure, empêchant les poètes et les écrivains de publier leurs œuvres.
Les éditions du Non-Où (Naakojaa en persan, qui signifie Utopia), ont été créées en France en 2012 afin de redonner la parole à cette création littéraire passée sous silence. Les éditions Naakojaa ont publié plus de 200 livres en persan qui n’auraient pas passé la censure en Iran. En 2017 nous avons fait un pas de plus en traduisant ces œuvres en français pour leur donner la chance d’être découverts dans d’autres langues que le persan. Notre devise étant les paroles de Franz Kafka :
«toute littérature est un assaut contre la frontière. »