XVMe02ea7ce-0219-11ea-8ee0-b57f2b41b8ca.webp

Mohammad Ali Amir-Moezzi

A university professor, he is director of studies at the École Pratique des Hautes Etudes / PSL Research University and member of the Laboratory for Monotheism Studies (CNRS) and researcher at the Institute of Ismaili Studies (London).

Graduated from the National Institute of Oriental Languages and Civilizations (INALCO) and Doctor of State in Islamology from the Practical School of Advanced Studies (EPHE) and the Sorbonne-Nouvelle University , he occupies, at the Practical School of high studies, the post of director of study in classical Islamology, formerly held by Louis Massignon , Henry Corbin and Daniel Gimaret .

Its direction of studies entitled "Exegesis and Theology of Shi'ite Islam" is the only one devoted to Shiism in the Western academic world.

Member of the editorial board of several academic journals and visiting professor at several universities in North America , Europe and the Near East , he is scientific advisor at the Institute of Ismaili Studies  (en) , corresponding member of the Institute of Advanced Studies of Nantes and member of the Ambrosian Academy since 2015.

XVMe02ea7ce-0219-11ea-8ee0-b57f2b41b8ca.webp

Mohammad Ali Amir-Moezzi

Professeur des universités, il est directeur d’études à l’École pratique des hautes études / PSL Research University et membre du Laboratoire d’études sur les monothéismes (CNRS) et chercheur à l’Institute of Ismaili Studies (Londres).

Diplômé de l’Institut national des langues et civilisations orientales (INALCO) et docteur d'État en islamologie de l'École pratique des hautes études (EPHE) et de l'université Sorbonne-Nouvelle, il occupe, à l'École pratique des hautes études, le poste de directeur d'étude en islamologie classique, jadis détenu par Louis Massignon, Henry Corbin et Daniel Gimaret.

Sa direction d'études intitulée « Exégèse et théologie de l’islam shi’ite » est la seule consacrée au chiisme dans le monde académique occidental.

Membre du comité éditorial de plusieurs revues académiques et professeur invité dans plusieurs universités d'Amérique du Nord, d'Europe et du Proche-Orient, il est conseiller scientifique à l'Institute of Ismaili Studies (en), membre correspondant à l'Institut d'études avancées de Nantes et membre de l’Académie ambrosienne depuis 2015.